eat look listen

video roundup

Posted in Music by eatlooklisten on November 10, 2008

These are songs that have been bopping around in my head lately.


Captain – “Glorious”
This song came out a couple years ago and I was really obsessed with it. I really love the cinematic quality it has, how kind of epic and sweeping it is. The video doesn’t quite do it for me the way the video does, but oh well.


Guillemots – “Trains to Brazil”
Yet another sweeping kind of pop song that came out a few years ago. This one, although the music is a little more upbeat, is a lot sadder/heartbreaking in content. I really haven’t paid attention to this band after this single came out, even though they were up for a Mercury prize with this album. I don’t think there could have been a video made for me that would have done the song justice.


Serena Maneesh – “Drain Cosmetics”
The Man hepped me to this band last week – I’d read their name on countless blogs and saw them pass through Chicago at least once without flinching, and I’m super kicking myself now because I’m in love with their second album. It’s really hypnotic and beautiful and catchy. And of course they’re Norwegian, because more and more things that I like nowadays are from Norway or Sweden. Their own record label called them “new-gazers”, which is of course cringe-worthy. This video has a weird Smashing Pumpkins vibe to it, a-la “Adore” but whatevs.


Metronomy – “Radio Ladio”
I feel like I talk too much about this band already. They’re from the UK. They are great. Their new album is called “Nights Out” and I can’t recommend it enough. Also, if they are touring near you, you are required to see them. Also they are nice peoples, and this video makes me laugh. However I do think the sassy girl in the video isn’t sassy enough.

Leave a Reply

